top of page

Ode to Biscoff

After a week's retreat in Greece, you can now often find me in the lotus position. I don't mean with both feet resting on either side of my legs, but with a spoon and a jar of caramelised biscuit spread in each hand. I even had a dream about purchasing two huge glass jars of it the other night.

'Biscoff' is almost onomatopoeic in that one makes a similar noise whilst consuming it. It's the type of addictive where you feel like you constantly need more of it in as many forms and textures as possible.

Biscoff, oh biscoff,

Oh where would I be?

Without you in my life

I'd be lost,

And all would see

The fix for my contentment,

Plain as the mountains in day

My happiness is present, when it's just you and me.

You're great on toast,

Could work in a chocolate bar;

Combinations are endless,

You're able to go so far.

Despite all of these options,

There's just one I prefer:

It's when I like you most,

Spooned straight from the jar.

Though let's not stop just there,

Many guises you do have,

Many looks, many attires,

Many ways in which you wear,

Your dessert style butteriness,

Proves no cheesecake could compare,

To one in which you appear.

Melted onto porridge,

Stirred into a cream,

Ne'er have I encountered,

Such a treat to eat.

So grant me this, my dear lotus,

As sweet such as a flower;

I beg you to relinquish,

Your strong and holding power.

For at my peril, I stress, I cannot bear,

To be without you here.

Some days I cannot access, some days I cannot taste,

So please calm my ubiquitous compulsion, of Biscoff to devour.

Lotus, The Original Caramelised Biscuit Spread

Available in most large supermarkets and selected stores

£2-3

No tags yet.

More

tags

Archive

Hungry?

Congrats! You’re subscribed

bottom of page